All Forums | Main Page | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 NORWEGIAN GENEALOGY
 General genealogy
 Ancestral Farm
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

derrickoien
Starting member

USA
5 Posts

Posted - 09/07/2024 :  20:27:57  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have been working on my family ancestry for 20+ years. My aunt visited the family farm in Norway a long time ago and given her age, she can't recall where it was. I found the records on the 1865 Census that said that they were on Ytteroy on a farm with this information:

Census district: 008 2det
Help
Rural residence: 0021 Fjeldstuen

Parish:Ytterøen
Parish:Værran

I can't find any maps and I assume the farm was absorbed a long time ago. Any chance someone might have some ideas on how I can locate the area?

ToreL
Advanced member

Norway
839 Posts

Posted - 09/07/2024 :  22:06:01  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
So these are the people: https://www.digitalarkivet.no/census/person/pf01038340004446
Go to Top of Page

derrickoien
Starting member

USA
5 Posts

Posted - 09/07/2024 :  22:20:23  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Yes, that is my 2nd great grandfather and my great grandfather Mads.

quote:
Originally posted by ToreL

So these are the people: https://www.digitalarkivet.no/census/person/pf01038340004446

Edited by - derrickoien on 09/07/2024 22:39:58
Go to Top of Page

ToreL
Advanced member

Norway
839 Posts

Posted - 09/07/2024 :  23:02:55  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
It was probably located somewhere near Verrasundet: Map. You can zoom in on the map (South shore) and find many of the farms mentioned before and after Fjeldstuen in the census, like Storsteinvik, Hindberg, Hovdklumpen. The name of Fjeldstuen would be Fjellstua today; with a little luck I can find something relevant in a bygdebok. That will have to wait until tomorrow.