All Forums | Main Page | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 NORWEGIAN GENEALOGY
 General genealogy
 Anna Olson (Helvik)
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

gljnelson
Starting member

USA
9 Posts

Posted - 29/04/2009 :  23:28:01  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello!

I am new to this and I'm not exactly sure how it works but I'll give it a try. Many of the family lines which I am tracing are taking root in Norway and I am unfamiliar with how to search some of the Norway databases. I have tried to experiment a little and with luck have found some of the family names. However, there is one name that has me perplexed and I can't seem to find her anywhere in Norway. I'm hoping that someone might be able to help me or steer me in the right direction...

Anna Gurine Olson (or possibly Helvik)

According to her death certificate she was born April 11, 1873 in Norway. She died on May 13, 1922, in Otter Tail, Minnesota.

She married Henry John Totland about 1899 and her Immigration date is listed as 1899, 1889, or 1879 according to the US censuses (not much help there).

I am told that she was born in Finaas, Norway and that her mother's name was Ales Andersdtr (Helvik??) born 17 Sep 1847. I have found three different marriages for Ales (Ole Hanssen, Gustavus Larssen, and Svend Endressen) but have not been able to confirm that she had a daughter named Anna. On Anna's death certificate it also lists her father as Andrew Olson but I'm not sure this name makes sense (I would expect her last name to be different if this were the case...but who knows).

At familysearch.org I found an
Anna Gjertine Olsdtr
Born 1873 in Kalve, Austevoll, Hordaland
Parents Ole Larssen and Abelone Andersdtr

I'm inclined to say that this isn't the right Anna but I can't be certain.

Any advice?

L Nelson

eibache
Norway Heritage Veteran

Norway
6495 Posts